Welcome to Haiku Canada

The Betty Drevniok Award

Haiku Canada established this annual competition in memory of Betty Drevniok, past president of the society.

Sbmissions are closed for the 2021 Annual Betty Drevniok Award

Winners will be announced at the Haiku Canada Weekend in May, 2021
and available by June 1st on the website.

The Betty Drevniok Award Results 2020

We are pleased to announce the results of the 2020 Haiku Canada Betty Drevniok Award.
My deepest thanks to kj munro for her excellent job of judging and commenting on our three top winners and eight honorable mentions.

We had a total of 660 haiku 229 poets from 38 countries. The biggest showing was from Canada, US, Australia, India, Croatia and Romania with a singular entry from Vietnam who won an HM.

Trifolds of the winning entries containing the judge’s commentary can be found here.

Congratulations to all winners and thanks to all poets for their submissions and their support of our contest.
Carole MacRury
Contest Coordinator

Haiku from the 2013 Haiku Canada Holographic Anthology

one blossom closes
another opens
spring morning


cranberry bog
wading through
a million suns

~Ellen Cooper~

on his bedside table
a thin film of dust

~Pat Benedict~

wind on the water
I change the colour of her hair
in my poem

~Nick Avis~

Contact Haiku Canada: