Welcome to Haiku Canada

The Marianne Bluger Book and Chapbook Awards

Haiku Canada established this annual competition in memory of Marianne Bluger, past member of the society.

  • Call for entries 2020
  • Entry form 2020

The Marianne Bluger Book and Chapbook Awards Results 2020

1st Place Winners:
– Marco Fraticelli, A Thousand Years: The Haiku and Love Letters of Chiyo-ni (catkin, 2018)
– Connie R. Meester and Valorie Broadhurst Woerderhoff, Tsugigami: gathering the pieces (Red Moon Press, 2018)

Honourable Mentions:
– Chuck Brickley, earthshine (Snapshot Press, 2018)
– Marjorie Bruhmuller, Back Porch Haiku (Éditions des petits nuages, 2019)
– LeRoy Gorman, goodwill galaxy hunting (Urban Farmhouse Press, 2019
– Hans Jongman, Shift Change (Catkin Press, 2017)

1st Place Winner:
– Marianne Paul, Body Weight: A Collection of Haiku and Art (Human/Kind Press, 2019)

Honourable Mentions:
– Gary Hotham, 23 (Longhouse, 2019)
– Mike Montreuil, Long ago in a small logging town: Haibun (catkin, 2018)

The judge's comments
Judging collected writing is never easy. But some of the secret lies in looking for balance. Naturally, the words on the page are most important. But technique, editing, and design are also paramount.   • Read more …

The Marianne Bluger Book and Chapbook Awards Past Results
  • 2020